Home Local News Community Shares of Wisconsin will honor local social and environmental justice leaders...

Community Shares of Wisconsin will honor local social and environmental justice leaders with Community Change-Maker Awards

Dana Pellebon. Photo supplied.

Community Shares of Wisconsin (CSW) will honor local leaders and organizations who are advancing social and environmental justice in the greater Madison community on Sept. 22 at the annual Community Change-Maker Awards event at the UW-Madison Union South in Varsity Hall

Dana Pellebon, an activist, artist, and educator who represents the District 33 of the Dane County Board of Supervisors, will be honored with the Liesl Blockstein Community Leadership Award. Nominated by OutReach, Pellebon is the co-executive director of the Rape Crisis Center and a member of the OutReach board of directors.

“I’m grateful to Community Shares and OutReach for this award. I’ve been proud to be a part of the work of OutReach and our community as a whole,” Pellebon tells Madison365. “Thank you to all the people who have been mentors to me and supporters of the work.”

Phyllis Greenberger will be honored with the Sally Sunde Family Advocate Award. Nominated by Disability Rights Wisconsin, Greenberger has been a champion for children and youth with disabilities since she began at Disability Rights Wisconsin over 30 years ago.

Elisabeth Lambert will be honored with the Linda Sundberg Civil Rights Defender Award. In her role as the Equal Justice Works Fellow at ACLU of Wisconsin, she represents students and families dealing with discriminatory practices within the school system. Lambert was nominated by ACLU of Wisconsin Foundation.

At the event, Community Shares of Wisconsin will bestow a posthumous Lifetime Achievement award to R. Richard (Dick) Wagner for being instrumental in the movement for LGBTQ equality in Wisconsin, especially in Dane County.

Megin McDonell, executive director of Fair Wisconsin, will be accepting this award on Dick Wagner’s behalf.

Also, CSW Collaboration Award winners will be presented to Midwest Environmental Advocates, River Alliance of Wisconsin, and Wisconsin Environmental Health Network (the environmental arm of Physicians for Social Responsibility Wisconsin), for using the power of the law to protect the health of Wisconsin communities.

Tickets purchased in support of this event help Community Shares award six nonprofits $1,000 each. Tickets are a suggested donation of $50. For those who cannot make it to the event, it will be broadcasted online. For more information or to get tickets, click here.