Home Local News La Movida’s 9th Annual Hispanic Heritage Luncheon Will Celebrate Hispanic Achievements and...

La Movida’s 9th Annual Hispanic Heritage Luncheon Will Celebrate Hispanic Achievements and Contributions


In observance of the National Hispanic Heritage Month, La Movida Radio and Mid-West Family Broadcasting have announced that they will host the 9th Annual Hispanic Heritage Luncheon Celebration, which will take place Friday, Oct. 11, 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center in downtown Madison.

Leaders and representatives of local Latino and non-Latino institutions are expected to attend the event including special guests like Madison Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway; Fitchburg Mayor Aaron Richardson; Consul Julian Adem Diaz de Leon, Mexico Consulate of Milwaukee; Shiva Bidar, president of the City of Madison Common Council; and Fitchburg alder Julia Arata-Fratta, who will give the proclamation for the event. There will also be special remarks from Dane County Executive Joe Parisi.

La Movida has been broadcasting special programming during Hispanic Heritage Month (Sept. 15-Oct.15) while featuring local Latino personalities. Each year, the United States of America honors the contributions Latinos have made to the nation during Hispanic Heritage Month. This annual celebration was first established by the US Congress on September 17, 1968, with a weeklong event. In 1988, President Ronald Reagan expanded this celebration to a month.

State Rep. JoCasta Zamarripa

The following leaders and entities will be recognized during the 9th Annual Hispanic Heritage Luncheon Celebration for their contributions in the greater Madison area:

◉ Community Institution of the Year: Latino Health Council

◉ Community Leader of the Year: JoCasta Zamarripa – State Representative to the Assembly, 8th District at Wisconsin State Legislature
◉ Hispanic Achievement of the Year: Christian A. Albouras – City of Madison Alder District 20
◉ The Amigo Award: Neil Heinen – Editorial Director at WISC-TV
◉ Hispanic Entrepreneurs of the Year: Alejandra Bustamante – ChFC State Farm Agent
◉ Believe and Succeed Award: Nicole Sandoval – President, Latino Professionals Association
◉ Making a Difference Award: Michael Hernandez – Chief of Schools – High School, MMSD

For more information about this event, contact Lupita Montoto at (608) 441-3768 or [email protected].