Home Entertainment Madison Area Hip-Hop Award Finalists Announced — Final Voting Now Open!

Madison Area Hip-Hop Award Finalists Announced — Final Voting Now Open!


Finalists for the 2016 Madison Hip-Hop Awards have been announced, and final voting is open now through November 4.

Madison365 is proud to be the exclusive media sponsor of the seventh annual Madison Hip-Hop Awards, honors given out in 17 categories and chosen by Madison’s own hip-hop fans.

“This is a chance to honor and inspire multiple generations of local artists while creating a valuable opportunity for bridge-building and collaboration,” says Karen Reece of Urban Community arts Network, the organization behind the awards. “The voting process and the awards ceremony offer a rare opportunity for Madison to get a sense of the vast diversity and Hip-Hop talent we have right in our own back yard.”

The finalists were determined by a first round of fan vote. The second round of voting is open now at https://madisonhiphopawards.com/cast-your-vote/.

Projects are linked directly from the Hip-Hop Awards website, so voters can make an informed decision and listen to some really great music.

“It’s important to cast your vote so you let Madison Hip-Hop know who you think is the best,” Reece says. “The awards are 100% determined by the fans and the community.”

The awards ceremony itself, this year on Saturday, November 12 at the Barrymore Theatre, is an amazing display of the definition of community. In true Madison fashion you’ll see all ages, styles, and walks of life dressed in everything from jeans to tuxedos networking and having a great time together. The ceremony is organized and professionally peoduced to truly honor the hard work and dedication displayed by Madison Hip-Hop artists throughout the year.

The voting process is independently run through Broadjam.com. This means that the even organizers have no interaction with votes as they are collected and counted. Broadjam’s system allows for thorough screening for any signs of fraud or multiple votes. This guarantees that the artist presented with an award is truly the artist for whom the community has voted.

The finalists are:

Album of the Year

Band Camp – Brezzy Esco

Black Sheep – Lucien Parker

SHE – Trapo

The Cook Up – Compound & DJ Pain1

The Takeoff – P Swagger

Collab of the Year

Dial Ra’Shaun ft. Trapo

Muddy Waters – DJ Sixteen ft. Jay B Coolin

Still Here – RiP ft. PR, Influence, TruMotiv

Weirdo – O Money ft. Kevin Gates & T.Rone

Yeah Hoe Damian Isiah ft. Quintino, Jonny Cvsh, Retro

DJ of the Year

DJ Flo

DJ Mando

DJ Pain 1

O Money

Since ’93

Female Rap Artist of the Year


Domi Lee

Kilo of Bloodline

Hip-hop Dancers of the Year

House Arrest 2

Madison Breakers

Xclusive Movement

Male Rap Artist of the Year

Brezzy Esco

DJ Sixteen

Lucien Parker

O Money


Young Delta

Mixtape of the Year

Midwest Madness Duval Addiction Edition Hosted by O Money

Milkshake Wishes and Cheeseburger Dreams – Brezzy Esco

Theology – Typhon

Things Have Changed – 3rd Dimension

Wi$co Way – Wi$co

Photographer of the Year

Andy Huynh

Black Rabbit

Hedi Rudd

Producer of the Year

Applied Knowledge



The Cut Up Artist


Promoter of the Year

Midwest Mixup

Rhyme & Reason

Strange Oasis

R&B Group of the Year


Trend N Topic


R&B Singer of the Year


Domi Lee


Josh Hayes

Radio Personality of the Year



Mister G

Sed the Jerk

Rap Group of the Year

3rd Dimension

Conscious Object

Snipe Boyz

Dogs of War

Rookie of the Year


Damien Isiah





Song of the Year

Kick Back – Trend N Topic

Pen Cold – Typhon

Stamina G-Todd feat. Axe

Still Here – RiP

Weirdo – O Money ft. Kevin Gates & T.Rone

Studio Engineer of the Year

Joey Villa/RemedyBornMuzik


Sed the Jerk

T Bone

Will E. Banks

Video of the Year

Came From Nothing – Wi$co (Shot by DDS Films)

Chosen – 3rd Dimension (Shot by Niko Money)

Kick Back – Trend N Topic (Filmed by MacManTV)

She Moved On – Trapo (Dir. By Cody LaPlant)

Still Here – RiP (RiP Records)

Videographer of the Year


O Money