Nominations for 2023 Rev. James C. Wright Award due on Friday, March 31

    Rev. James C. Wright

    The Madison Equal Opportunities Commission is seeking nominations for the annual Reverend James C. Wright Human Rights Award. Nominations are due by Friday, March 31.

    The City of Madison Equal Opportunities Division (EOD) and the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) present the Rev. James CWright Human Rights Award annually to an individual who best exemplifies civil rights pioneer Rev. Wright’s dedication and compassion for civil and human rights and conducts their daily life consistent with these values.

    Rev. Wright worked during the 1960s to bring about the adoption of the City of Madison’s Equal Opportunities Ordinance. Wright served as a member of the Equal Opportunities Commission prior to his appointment as executive director for the Equal Opportunities Commission. During his years with the City, he spearheaded the drafting of the City’s first affirmative action ordinance and developed a complaint resolution process for the Equal Opportunities Commission that provided a make-whole remedy for victims of discrimination. Under his leadership, the Equal Opportunities Ordinance was recognized as one of the most comprehensive pieces of civil rights legislation in the country.

    Past recipients of the Rev. James C. Wright Award include Jacqueline Wright, 1996; Dr. Richard H. Harris, 1997; Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, 1998; Helen Vukelich, 1999; Anthony “Nino” Amato, 2000; John Noreika Sr., 2001; Dr. John Y. Odom, 2002; Peter Muñoz, 2003; Earnestine Moss, 2004; Jonathan “Jon” Gramling, 2005; Agnes Gutierrez Cammer, 2006; Jeffery Erlanger, 2007; Dr. Richard Davis, 2008; Darlene Hancock, 2009; Alfonso Studesville, 2010; Richard V. Brown Sr., 2011; Colleen Butler, 2012; Charlestine “Charlie” Daniel, 2013; Dr. Floyd Rose, 2014; Anthony Timmons, 2015; Annette Miller, 2016; Brandi Grayson, 2019; Tamora Fleming, 2020; Carmella Harris, 2021; and Wayne Strong, 2022.

    The award(s) will be presented at the second City Council meeting in June. Two plaques will be designed. One will be housed in the Department of Civil Rights offices and the names of recipients will be added annually. The second will be presented to the award recipient(s).

    For more information, click here.