Bronson Koenig (Photo by Rob Chappell, Madison365)

The Big Ten announced its 2016-17 men’s basketball conference schedule. The conference season begins on Dec. 27, and culminates with the 20th annual Big Ten Tournament at the Verizon Center in Washington D.C. from March 8-12.

The Big Ten schedule gets underway with four games on Tuesday, Dec. 27, with Maryland hosting Illinois, Minnesota entertaining Michigan State, Penn State welcoming Northwestern and Wisconsin hosting Rutgers. Defending Big Ten champion Indiana will entertain Nebraska on Wednesday, Dec. 28, while Purdue will welcome Iowa to Mackey Arena. Michigan and Ohio State will both open the Big Ten season on Sunday, Jan. 1, 2017, with the Wolverines traveling to Iowa and the Buckeyes visiting Illinois. The conference season concludes on Sunday, March 5.

The Wisconsin Badgers season schedule is below.

The Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament will be held in Washington D.C. for the first time. All 14 teams will advance to the tournament, with two first-round games slated for Wednesday, March 8. The No. 12 seed will face the No. 13 seed, while the No. 11 seed will take on the No. 14 seed. The top four teams will receive first and second round byes and advance to the quarterfinals on Friday, March 10.

Television designations for the Big Ten men’s basketball conference schedule and Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament will be announced at a later date.