Milwaukee Brewers first baseman Jesus Aguilar hits a home run in the fourth inning of the Brewers' 11-0 win over the Detroit Tigers on Sunday at Miller Park.

The Milwaukee Brewers and Chicago Cubs will play a tiebreaker game today and the winner will be crowned NL Central champs, will get home-field advantage throughout the National League playoffs, and won’t have to play again until Thursday.

Yesterday, Brewers first baseman Jesús Aguilar went 2-for-5 with a solo home run, two runs and three RBI to help the Brewers to a 12-0 victory over the Tigers on Sunday. Meanwhile, the Cubs handled rival St. Louis Cardinals 11-5 to set up the tiebreaker match-up.

The Cubs are expected to start Jose Quintana today (13-11, 4.09 ERA) against the Brewers who have officially named Jhoulys Chacin as their starting pitcher. Chacin is 15-8 with a 3.56 ERA in 34 starts this season.

The winner of today’s tiebreaker game will play host to the wild-card game winner in Game 1 of the National League Division Series on Thursday. The loser plays host to either the Dodgers or Rockies in Tuesday’s NL wild card game.

This year marks the first time in baseball history two divisions will be determined by one-game playoff. It is also the first time since MLB went to a two-wild card format in 2012 that a division winner was determined by playoff.

The first pitch from Wrigley Field will be at 12:05 p.m. Central time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here