Home Wisconsin 2020 Wisconsin Leadership Community Choice Award Winners

2020 Wisconsin Leadership Community Choice Award Winners


Nearly 4,000 people voted, and the races were close! But in the end, some amazing leaders won the Wisconsin Leadership Community Choice Awards.

They will all be honored in a virtual awards show on the evening of Friday, October 9, on Facebook live, as part of the Wisconsin Leadership Summit presented by UW Credit Union.

Woman of Excellence: Sequanna Taylor

Sequana is currently the 2nd District County Supervisor in MIlwaukee. Supervisor Taylor serves as Vice Chair of the Health and Human Needs Committee, and as a member of the Finance and Audit Committee and the Personnel Committee. Sequanna Taylor’s recent experience and community involvement include: CEO, Open Arms Inc., MPS Parent Engagement Specialist, President of the Milwaukee Educational Assistant Association, Executive Board Member of Milwaukee Teachers Education Association, National Education Association (NEA) Board Member, Ordained Missionary of COGIC and Wisconsin Counties Association Board.
“It’s hard to put into words what this means to me,” Sequanna said when informed last night that she’d won. “This win is for every little Black girl or any girl to know Yes, You Can. Put God first, have faith, and always remember to give back.”

Man of Excellence: Michael Johnson

Michael is the President & CEO of Boys & Girls Clubs of Dane County and led the agency on an amazing journey of change – transforming the organization from a local children’s charity to a change agent for children and families while driving high standards of excellence in financial transparency, community engagement and governance; all with the goal of making a significant, measurable impact in the lives of children and their families.
Over the last few months Johnson and his partners raised $3 million in 90 days and distributed $2.3 million to over 51 agencies to help those in need during this pandemic. Through him and his partners:
  • 42,988 meals provided to local kids
  • 16,424 meals to senior citizens
  • 74,492 care boxes to families in need
  • 7,901 bills paid for low income families
  • 604 medical supplies for COVID patients
  • 61 college students bills paid
  • Distributed 165,000 face mask and gloves
  • Hired 141 teenagers for paid internships
  • Fed hundreds of first responders
  • Raised $100,000 for local restaurants
  • Raised $200,000 for downtown businesses
  • 350,000 people watched and participated in town hall discussions after the murders of George Floyd and Ahmaud Aubrey with Madison 365.
“I am honored and thankful the community nominated and ultimately chose me to receive the 2020 Wisconsin Man of Excellence Award. I am humbled that almost 700 people honored me with their votes and I am forever thankful,” Michael said last night after learning that he’d won. “Congratulations to the other nominees who are just as deserving of this award and appreciate their service and their commitment to our community. I humbly accept the Wisconsin Man of Excellence Award on behalf of the men and women who volunteer and work with me at the Boys & Girls Clubs of Dane County.”

Small Business Executive of the Year: Annette Miller, EQT By Design

Annette has lived in Madison since 1989 with her life partner, Mike, and three children they have raised together. Annette’s career spans decision-making roles across state and local government and as an executive in the private sector. She brings 25 years of strong professional policy and analytic skills, and a wide network of community, government, and business relationships, especially with Dane County’s diverse populations. Annette launched EQT By Design (EQT) to focus on developing diverse, inclusive, sustainable strategies in public engagement, equitable community development projects, and organizational cultural change management.
“Honestly, I’m humbled and feel honored that I can live my passion of racial equity and social justice; now more than ever! Being a business woman was always my life’s dream!” she said last night when informed that she’d won. “Congrats to all the other nominees and to all our supporters who nominated and voted for us. This state and the economy need all of our talent!”

Large Business Executive of the Year: Ana Hooker, Exact Sciences

Ana is senior vice president for Exact Sciences, one of the top executives in Madison’s burgeoning biotech sector. She brought more than 20 years of lab experience when she accepted the position overseeing all laboratory operations. With an undergrad degree from Kansas State and an MBA from Westminster College in Salt Lake City, she spent 15 years in a variety of positions with ARUP Laboratories in Utah.
“Wow, I am humbled by the news, which is more a reflection of my team’s accomplishments than mine,” she said last night after learning that she’d won. “This award is really for them since they inspire me to be my very best every day with their energy and commitment to patient care.”

Nonprofit of the Year: Hope Street Ministry

Hope Street is the Greenhouse for People on 26th and Capitol. They help broken men, women and children cultivate hope. We protect from outside elements but most importantly we grow together in a relationship with Jesus Christ. Hope Street is home to about 40 Men, Women, and Children whose lives have been profoundly affected by the toxic environment they grew up in, their own poor choices, or drug and alcohol abuse. Empowered by the active Grace of Christ, the staff, volunteers and members cultivate a nurturing community in which we can live, learn and develop new habits that help people flourish.
“Hope Street has been on the corner of 26th and Capitol for over 20 years, from the beginning we have been about investing in the community and providing opportunities for people to heal and grow,” executive director Ashley Thomas said upon learning that Hope Street had won. “We are incredibly grateful to those who join us in that mission by investing in us. We are thankful for the opportunity to be acknowledged for this award and appreciate all those who made the time to vote. This award is a great reminder of how strong our community of supporters is!”

Social Justice Leader of the Year: The Milwaukee Bucks

The Bucks brought the entire professional sports world to a halt in August, going on strike in the middle of a playoff run to demand racial justice in the wake of the police shooting of Jacob Blake in Kenosha. When they refused to take the floor for Game 5 of the first round of the playoffs, apparently willing to forfeit the game, they demanded to speak to people in power in both the NBA and the state of Wisconsin and express the immediate need for police reform and more. They were able to secure Fiserv Forum, their home arena, as an early voting location. Following their lead, the other four NBA teams scheduled to play that night called off their games, as did the Milwaukee Brewers and several other MLB teams, as did the entire slate of MLS teams scheduled to play that night. It was an unprecedented show of solidarity from professional athletes and organizations across the country.